The floor goes down.

 

When it came to choosing the flooring for my kitchen I knew that I wanted Karndean
I already have Karndean tiles in my bathroom and loo and find it hard wearing, warm and attractive.
The kitchen had Cushionflor and the dining room was parquet covered by carpet.
When the Cushionflor was laid in 1979 I recall the floorer saying it would be impossible to get up in future as it was stuck down so well and I took him at his word.
I know that Karndean has to be laid on a clean fresh floor so this was a concern. Also I love parquet even though we had always carpeted over it in the dining room, so I wanted to preserve it for any future owners of our house.
So I was pleased to find that Karndean now have a range called Palio Clic that can be put over existing flooring without adhesive.
I sent off for samples and chose a warm wood, Crespina.
Dan at Kitchensmart was happy with the choice and put the order through having costed it for us.
Jamie the senior builder was concerned about the unevenness of the floor as after the wall came down there was quite a dip and there were undulations elsewhere, so he called in the floorer last week to examine it.
His verdict was that the floor had to be perfectly smooth to take the Palio Clic as any dips would compromise the flooring.
So it would have to be flooded (!) with latex to smooth it out. Therefore the parquet couldn’t be saved. I was sad but accepted it; this flooring was what I wanted.
They came late on Thursday evening and flooded the floor. It looked smooth, and smelt quite a bit. They came back on Friday and put more on the dining room side.
Saturday morning at 7 more floorers arrived to examine the floor, ready to lay the Palio Clic.
He squatted down, looked at it and said it couldn’t be done. The area where the wall was still wasn’t level enough.
Oh no, what to do now?
Having thought he then said he had enough screed to smooth the floor again which he proceeded to do.
He offloaded all the flooring, went on to another job and returned about 11 and proceeded to lay the floor. A shiny underlay went on first, then the Palio Clic.
As he layed it he commented that he often lays floors for show homes so is experienced with this product and he complimented me on the colour chosen. I didn’t want to look at it till it was fully down, rather like waiting for Christmas presents.
And it does look amazing. It feels good too. The floorer does need to return as he didn’t have the bars that connect into the hall and living room, but I’m very satisfied.

 

 

image

 

image

 

 

 

 

Categories: Kitchen | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

